Change your workspace or org name and URL

Your workspace name is displayed in menus and headings throughout Slack. It will usually be (or include) the name of your company. Your workspace URL is the web address your members will use to access Slack. 

On Slack Enterprise Grid – where multiple workspaces are connected across your company – org owners can set the overarching organisation name and URL.

Remember: When changing a workspace URL, you’ll also need to update the URL in other services such as single sign-on and some apps.

Note: You can rename or set a new web address for your workspace or Enterprise Grid organisation at any time. Make sure you let all members know about the change.


Change a workspace name or URL 

Here’s how workspace owners can change a workspace’s name and URL:

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down the page and click Change workspace name & URL.
  4. Select a new workspace name or URL.
  5. Click Save changes.

If your workspace is connected to an Enterprise Grid organisation, follow these instructions:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down the page and click Change workspace info.
  4. Enter a workspace name, description and URL.
  5. Click Save changes.


Change an org name or URL 

Here’s how org owners on Slack Enterprise Grid can change the organisation’s name and URL:

  1. From your desktop, sign in to your Slack Enterprise Grid, then click Manage organisation.
  2. Visit the  Settings page of the Admin dashboard.
  3. Click Organisation info.
  4. Enter an Organisation name and an Organisation domain
  5. Click Save changes to finish.


A note about changing the URL

When you change the URL, Slack will automatically redirect the old address to the new one. However, your former URL will become available to register by another group. Once claimed, your old URL will no longer redirect. Remind members to update their links and bookmarks.

Who can use this feature?
  • Only workspace owners and org owners can access this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid subscriptions.

Related articles

Recently viewed articles