Try a paid subscription for free

Are you using Slack on the Free subscription but curious to see what our other plans are all about? You might be interested in trying the Standard or Plus subscription on a free trial. 

How free trials work


Request a trial

Workspace Owners and Admins can request a free trial of Slack's Standard or Plus subscription. Ready to get started? Get in touch with us

You’ll be able to try out and take advantage of all of the subscription’s features. Read more about what the Standard subscription and Plus subscription include. 🚀

Tip: You can also upgrade to a paid subscription using credit without requesting a trial. See your payment details to view available credit.


What to expect

If you upgrade

If you don’t upgrade

How you’re billed

Once your free trial expires, we’ll use any credit balance on your account before billing you for either a monthly or annual subscription. See your workspace’s billing history to see available credit and when it expires. 

Note: We believe in fair billing, so you’ll only pay for the members who are active at the time you upgrade. Learn more about our fair billing policy.


Downgrade back to the Free subscription

If you’ve upgraded but change your mind before the free trial ends, you can return to the Free subscription. Learn how to change your subscription.

If you downgrade after the end of the trial, our terms of service apply. You can cancel at any time and no further payments will be taken, but we do not refund payments already made.

What to expect

If your free trial ends but you decide not to upgrade, you’ll move back to the Free subscription. Here’s what to expect:

  • You'll return to the message and file storage limits for the Free subscription. Only the most recent 10,000 messages will be viewable and searchable. If you've passed the 5GB file storage limit, Slack will archive older files so only the most recent 5GB are available. You'll be able to access archived files in the future if you upgrade to a paid plan.
  • Any email apps will be deactivated immediately.
  • Shared channels will stop being shared immediately. Each workspace will retain a copy of the channel. 
  • Guest accounts will be deactivated, although you can reactivate them as full members if you wish. 

Warning: Anything deleted via a custom data retention policy set during the free trial is permanently removed from your workspace.

Related articles

Recently viewed articles