Deactivate your Slack account

When you're ready to leave a workspace for good, you can deactivate your account. If you're a member of multiple workspaces, you'll need to deactivate each account individually.

Note: deactivating your account won't delete messages or files you've shared. If permitted, delete messages or files you'd like to remove before deactivating your account.


Deactivate your account

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Profile & account from the menu.
  3. Click the  More actions icon, then choose Open account settings.
  4. Scroll to Deactivate account, then click Deactivate your account.
  5. Tick the box next to Deactivate your account. If you’ve installed apps in the workspace, we’ll let you know those might be disabled. Workspace owners will be able to manage and re-enable them.
  6. Click Deactivate account.
  7. Enter your password, then click Confirm password.

    Your account will be deactivated immediately. If you'd like to return to this workspace in the future, a Workspace Owner or Admin will need to reactivate your account.

No option to deactivate? You’re the workspace primary owner, so you’ll first need to transfer ownership. Once you’ve done so, you’ll have the option to deactivate your account.


Delete your profile information

To delete your profile information, contact a workspace primary owner after deactivating your account. Workspace primary owners can contact Slack on your behalf to have your profile information removed. 

Related articles

Recently viewed articles