Delete a workspace

Only the Primary Owner of a workspace can delete it. If you don't see the option to delete, you can identify your Primary Owner from the workspace settings page and ask them for help.  

⚠️Keep in mind

  • Deleting a workspace is permanent
  • Before deleting, consider exporting workspace data first
  • Once deleted, all the workspace's messages and files are irretrievable

Tip: need to change your workspace's name or URL? There's no need to delete your workspace — you can change either of these from workspace settings under Workspace Name & URL.

 

Delete a workspace

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Scroll down to Delete workspace.
  4. Click Delete workspace.
  5. Tick the box to confirm you want to delete the workspace.
  6. Enter your password and click Yes, delete my workspace.

To remove a workspace from an Enterprise Grid org, it must be deleted by the workspace's Primary Owner.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Scroll down to Delete workspace.
  4. Click Delete workspace.
  5. Tick the box to confirm you want to delete the workspace.
  6. Enter your password and click Yes, delete my workspace.

Note: If your workspace or Enterprise Grid org has single sign-on enabled and you never created a password for your Slack account, you’ll need to set one. Follow the steps to reset your password.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Only the Workspace Primary Owner can delete a workspace
  • Free, Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions

Related articles

Recently viewed articles