Deactivate a member’s account

Over time, members of your workspace might come and go. Members can leave whenever they choose, or you can deactivate their accounts. 🍂

What happens when an account is deactivated?

  • The member will be signed out of Slack and no longer able to sign in.
  • Apps or integrations set up by the member will be disabled.
  • The member’s messages and files will still be accessible in Slack.


Deactivate an account

Free, Standard and Plus subscriptions

Enterprise Grid subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you want to deactivate.
  4. Select Deactivate account.

Workspace level

In an Enterprise Grid org, workspace owners and admins can deactivate member accounts for their workspace. When deactivated, the member will lose access to the workspace, but can still access and join other ones within the org. To deactivate and remove a member, use the steps below:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you want to deactivate.
  4. Select Deactivate account.

Org level

Org owners and admins can deactivate any member’s account. Once deactivated at the org level, a member can no longer access any workspace within the organisation. Here’s how to deactivate someone:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Organisation settings.
  3. Choose Members under Organisation.
  4. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you want to deactivate.
  5. Select Deactivate.

Bear in mind: To deactivate an admin’s account, you must be an owner. To deactivate another owner’s account, you must be the primary owner.


What to expect

Deactivating an account won’t remove any information from Slack. The member’s messages and files will still be accessible. This preserves the workspace’s message history, preventing information gaps and confusion for other members. Members can choose to delete their messages and files before their account is deactivated if they like.

Owners and admins of a workspace or org can reinstate a deactivated member later on if needed. Learn how to reactivate a member’s account.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Only org owners/admins or workspace owners/admins can use this feature.
  • Available on free and paid subscriptions.

Related articles

Recently viewed articles