Delete a channel

Workspace owners and workspace admins can delete any channel that they’ve joined, with the exception of the #general channel. Deleting a channel removes it from a workspace. Alternatively, workspace owners and workspace admins can choose to archive a channel to preserve the channel’s history.

Bear in mind

  • Only workspace owners and admins have permission to delete channels. Members looking to delete a channel should contact an administrator for help.
  • Files shared in deleted channels may still be accessible elsewhere in your workspace. Learn more about deleting shared files in Slack.
  • Channels can’t be deleted from the mobile app. 

 

Delete a channel

Warning: Once a channel has been deleted, it can’t be restored. Proceed with care.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you want to delete. You must join the channel if you haven’t already.
  2. Click the  cog icon to open the Channel settings menu. 
  3. Select Additional options, then Delete this channel.
  4. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete channel.

Note: Channels that are shared with another workspace can be deleted too. A workspace owner or workspace admin must stop sharing the channel before following the steps above.

 

Delete an archived channel

While archived channels remain in your workspace, they are not open for new activity, unless unarchived. You must unarchive a channel before you can delete it.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel browser. Click Channels in the left-hand sidebar or type  Shift L on Mac or Ctrl Shift L on Windows.
  2. Click Show: All channels, then Archived channels from the menu.
  3. Click on the channel you want to delete. The channel will open.
  4. Click the  cog icon to open the Channel settings menu. 
  5. Click Unarchive #channelname to unarchive the channel.
  6. Click the  cog icon to open the Channel settings menu. 
  7. Select Additional options, then Delete this channel.
  8. Tick the box next to Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete channel
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners and workspace admins 
  • FreeStandardPlus and Enterprise Grid subscriptions

Related articles

Recently viewed articles