Convert a channel to private

If a channel's conversation is better suited for a closed audience, you can convert the channel to private. This type of channel is best for discussions that shouldn't be open to everyone.

Before getting started

  • Only Workspace Owners/Admins and Org Owners/Admins can do this, and they need to be a member of the channel beforehand.
  • Files previously shared in the channel will not become private.
  • The #general channel cannot be converted to a private channel.
  • Shared channels will only be converted in the workspace that makes the change.


Convert a channel to private

Warning: It’s not possible to undo this action. For privacy reasons, private channels can never be made public.

Desktop

Mobile

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you want to make private. (Make sure you’re a member of the channel!)
  2. Click the  cog icon in the top right.
  3. Select Additional options from the Channel settings menu.
  4. Choose Change to a private channel.
  5. Click Convert to private to confirm. A message will be posted in the channel to let members know it’s been converted.

It’s not possible to convert a channel to private using the mobile app.


Restrict who can convert channels

By default, Owners and Admins of a workspace or org can convert channels to private (members don't have the option). If they’d prefer, Workspace and Org Owners can limit channel management preferences – including private channel conversions – to only Owners.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins and Org Owners/Admins 
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Related articles

Recently viewed articles