Upgrade, downgrade or cancel a paid subscription

If you’re the owner of a workspace on the Standard or Plus subscriptions (or you’re a member who’s upgraded the workspace), you have the option to upgrade, downgrade or cancel your workspace’s subscription. Use the steps below and get in touch if we can help with anything. 

Tip: Looking to upgrade your workspace from the Free subscription to Standard or Plus? Look no further! See Upgrade a free workspace to a paid subscription to learn more.


Change your workspace’s subscription

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. In the left-hand column, locate Administration, then click Billing.
  4. From the Overview tab, choose change subscription.
  5. Use the menu to select your subscription change.

    ⬆️To upgrade from Standard to Plus, choose Upgrade to Plus subscription.

    ⬇️To downgrade from Plus to the Standard subscription, choose Change to the Standard subscription.

    ⬇️To downgrade to the Free subscription, select Switch to the Free subscription upon renewal. Or to cancel your paid subscription immediately, choose Switch immediately to the Free subscription.

  6. Click View details of this change.
  7. Select Confirm this change.


Downgrading to the Free subscription

When moving from a paid subscription to the Free subscription, bear the following in mind:

Message/storage limits

Message and storage limits will change. Only the most recent 10,000 messages will be viewable and searchable. And if you’re over the 5 GB file storage limit, you’ll get to choose which files to delete from your workspace.

App/integration limits Your workspace can have up to 10 third-party apps or custom integrations. If you’re over the limit, you’ll be unable to add any other apps or integrations.
Feature availability

Guest accounts will be deactivated, but they can be reactivated as full members. Also, shared channels will no longer be shared, but each workspace will keep a copy. And finally, email apps will be deactivated immediately.

Refunds and credit If applicable, we’ll credit your workspace account with an amount of Slack credit equal to any unused portion of your paid subscription. 

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace owners
  • Standard and Plus subscriptions

Related articles

Recently viewed articles