Manage join and leave messages

In Slack, join and leave messages let other members know who's coming and going in a channel.

join_or_leave.png


How join and leave messages work

By default, all join and leave messages are visible in channels. Smaller groups working together in Slack may find these messages helpful, but large groups might prefer to hide them. If a Workspace Owner chooses to turn off this preference, here's how they'll work:

👀  Messages are displayed  

  • Someone is invited to join a public or private channel 
  • Someone leaves a private channel

🙈 Messages aren't displayed

  • Someone joins a public channel with more than 20 members 
  • Someone leaves a public channel 


Manage your preference

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Join & Leave Messages section and click Expand.
  4. Check or uncheck the box next to Show a message when people join or leave channels.  
  5. Click Save.

Note: On the Enterprise Grid plan, it's not possible to select a preference — the default applies to all workspaces in the organization. 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can access this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles