Use shared channels (beta)

In a shared channel, people from two separate organizations can send messages, share files, and work together. If you’re a part of Slack’s shared channel beta, read on to learn how to start sharing channels with external organizations.

Note: If you’re on the Standard or Plus plan, make sure to opt in to the beta to start using this feature. Workspaces on an Enterprise Grid org are automatically opted in.


Who can share a channel?

Who can create shared channels varies by plan:

  • Standard and Plus plans
    Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can share channels in their workspace with external organizations.
  • Enterprise Grid plan
    By default, only Org Owners and Org Admins can share channels with external organizations. They can allow others in their org to create shared channels too.

 

Share a channel

Before getting started, here's what to expect when you share a channel:

  • You can share any channel with one other workspace or Enterprise Grid org, except for the #general channel, which can't be shared at all.
  • A Workspace Owner or Admin from the other organization must accept your shared channel invitation before people can start collaborating.
  • When you share a channel, the external organization can view its message history, members, and any bots. Members of both organizations can also direct message each other.
  • A shared channel will have a  diamond icon next to the channel name, and the external org's name will appear above the message field.Screenshot of the context bar displaying the name of the other organization in a shared channel


How to share a channel

  1. On your desktop, open the channel you’d like to share.
  2. Click the  gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  3. Click Additional options, then Share this channel with another organization.
  4. Type the Workspace Owner or Admin’s email address and Slack URL, and add a message.
  5. Click Share Channel.



Cancel a shared channel invitation

If you've sent a request to share a channel with an external organization, here's how to cancel the invitation:

  1. Open your Slackbot direct message.
  2. Find the shared channel confirmation message.
  3. Click Cancel Invitation.



Stop sharing a channel

When a project ends, or a channel is simply no longer needed, you can stop sharing it at any time. Here's what to expect:

  • You won't be able to share this channel again.
  • The workspace that created the channel can continue using it, while the other organization will get an archived copy of the channel’s contents.
  • Members of both organizations can continue direct messaging each other.


How to stop sharing a channel

  1. On your desktop, open the channel you’d like to stop sharing.
  2. Click the  gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  3. Click Additional options, then Stop sharing this channel.

Tip: If you no longer wish to collaborate with another organization, you can stop sharing all channels with them.

Who can use this feature?
  • Owners and Admins (default)
  • Standard, Plus and Enterprise Grid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles