Create shared channels on a workspace (beta)

Beta: Shared channels is a completely new feature in Slack, currently in the beta phase. Learn how to join our shared channels beta. ✨

A shared channel (beta) is a bridge connecting your workspace with another company’s Slack workspace. It’s a secure place to communicate and collaborate with external contacts.

Benefits? There are several:

  • Create a common area between two unique workspaces, so you can find everything you need in one place.
  • Simplify communication, streamline conversations, and gain efficiency.
  • Make information and context easier to find across workspaces.

By default, Workspace Owners and Admins can create, share, and accept shared channels. If you don’t have permission to create a shared channel, talk to an administrator for help with shared channels. At this time, it's not possible to create and share private shared channels.

Note: You can only share a single channel between two workspaces at this time. However, you can share several different channels with more than one workspace, if you'd like.


Create a shared channel

Before you create a shared channel, you’ll need some information about the other workspace you want to share a channel with: make sure you have both the Slack URL and an email address for a Workspace Owner or Admin.

  1. Click your workspace name in the top-left to open the menu.
    Team_Menu.png
  2. Select Shared channels (beta), then click Create a Shared Channel. Or if your workspace already has shared channels, click the  plus icon next to the Shared Channels section in your sidebar.
  3. Choose who can access your shared channel on your workspace.
  4. Give the channel a name, then invite people from your workspace.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Type the Workspace Owner or Admin’s email address, Slack URL, and add a message.
  7. Click Create & Invite.


To cancel an invitation, open your Slackbot DM and find the shared channel confirmation message. Then, click Cancel Invitation. Currently, only the person who created the shared channel can cancel the invitation before it is accepted. 


Share an existing channel

Before you share an existing channel, you’ll need some information about the other workspace you want to share a channel with: make sure you have both the Slack URL and an email address for a Workspace Owner or Admin.

  1. On your desktop, open the channel you’d like to share with another workspace.
  2. Click the   gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  3. Click Additional options…., then Share this channel with another workspace.
  4. Type the Workspace Owner or Admin’s email address, the Slack URL, and add a message.
  5. Click Share Channel.


To cancel an invitation, open your Slackbot DM and find the shared channel confirmation message. Then, click Cancel Invitation. Currently, only the person who created the shared channel can cancel the invitation before it is accepted.

Caution: When you share an existing channel, the other workspace can see the message history, members, and bots in that channel.  


Accept requests to a shared channel

Both workspaces must be on paid plans to use shared channels. If you're invited to a shared channel, upgrade your workspace to accept the invitation.

Here’s how to accept a shared channel request from another Slack workspace:

  1. Open Slackbot when you receive a shared channel invitation.
  2. Click View Invitation. Review the details and make sure you trust the person requesting to share a channel with your workspace.
  3. Click Accept & Add Channel to accept the shared channel invitation. 


Stop sharing a channel

Workspace Owners and Admins can stop sharing a channel with another workspace at any time. Each workspace will keep separate copies of the channel, with the entire message history, and can each continue using their copy. Neither workspace will be able to re-share the channel.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you’d like to stop sharing.
  2. Click the   gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  3. Click Additional options….
  4. Click Stop sharing this channel.
  5. Click Stop Sharing. Members of the shared channel (from both workspaces) will get a Slackbot message letting them know it is no longer shared.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Admins can create shared channels.
  • Available on the Standard and Plus plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles