Shared channel (beta) security & policies

Beta: Shared channels is a new Slack feature, currently in the beta phase. Learn how to join Slack's shared channel beta.


Building a service you can trust is our top priority at Slack.

Shared channels are a way for two separate workspaces to communicate in Slack. So we’ve taken added precautions to protect your privacy and keep your workspace secure.

💡 To learn more about this feature, see Create shared channels on a workspace.

 

The basics

Creating a shared channel

Both workspaces must agree to use the feature in order to create and share channels. A Workspace Owner or Admin on one side must send a request, and the other Workspace Owner or Admin must accept it. Only Owners and Admins can agree to share channels across workspaces.


Accepting a shared channel invitation

All Workspace Owners and Admins will receive any invitation to share a channel. An invitation to share a channel with another workspace will include the organization's name, the sender’s email address, and sometimes a message with details. You can use this info to identify the sender and confirm that someone from your workspace needs to collaborate with them.

If, despite this, you’re unsure what the shared channel is for and who they are, don't fret! You have a few options:

  • Don't accept the invitation. You’re not required to share channels with the other workspace. Simply decline the invite.
  • Email the sender for clarification. Their email address is included in the invitation you received.
  • Ask your team. Someone from your workspace may work with the sender. If so, they may be able to give you the information you need.

 

Beta period features and policies

The information below covers which features and functionalities are available during beta, and what you can expect once shared channels is fully launched. 

🔏 Custom message and file retention policies

  • Beta
    Custom retention policies aren’t supported for shared channels in the beta period. All messages and files sent in shared channels and direct messages related to shared channels abide by the default message retention setting —
    Keep all messages.
  • After the beta
    Custom retention policies will be supported. Each workspace can have different message and file retention policies in place for shared channels.

    For example, let's say Workspace A’s policy is to keep all messages, and Workspace B’s policy is to keep messages for 30 days. Workspace A can access all messages in a shared channel. Workspace B can access messages from the last 30 days.

🔏 Message editing and deletion permissions

  • Beta
    Your workspace's settings for editing and deletion privileges apply to your shared channels.

    For example, a Workspace Admin can delete messages sent by members of their workspace, but not messages sent by members of another.
  • After the beta
    No changes to this function.


🔏 Export tools and Data Loss Protection (DLP)

  • Beta
    Workspace Owners and Admins can use Standard Export to export content from public shared channels. On the Plus plan, Workspace Owners can apply to use Corporate Export to export content from all shared channels (public or private) and direct messages shared across two workspaces.

    Both workspaces can read the content — or data — posted in shared channels. However, only the workspace that sent the data may edit or delete the data.
  • After the beta
    No changes to this function.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles