Shared channel security and policies (beta)

Shared channels is a new feature currently in beta. It allows you to share channels with companies and businesses you regularly work with – like clients, vendors, and partners – to bring all the right people into the same place. With this feature, we've taken added precautions to protect your privacy and keep your workspace or Enterprise Grid org secure.


Shared channel creation

A channel can be shared between two workspaces, but in order to do so, both must have access to the beta feature:

  • Standard and Plus plans: Workspace Owners and Admins must opt in to the beta
  • Enterprise Grid plan: Org Owners and Admins can start using the beta right away

Read more about how to create shared channels.


Shared channel invitations

Accept an invitation

Only owners and admins can receive invitations to share channels with external organizations.

  • Standard and Plus plans: Workspace Owners and Admins can receive invitations
  • Enterprise Grid plan: Org Owners and Admins can receive invitations

An invitation to share a channel will include the external organization's name, the sender's email address, and sometimes a message with more details. Use this info to identify the sender and confirm that someone from your workspace or Enterprise Grid org needs access to this channel.


Decline an invitation

If you're unsure what a proposed shared channel is for or who the invitation is from, you have a few options:

  • Don't accept the invitation. You can decline any invitation your receive.
  • Email the sender for clarification using the address included in the request.
  • Ask your members for more info about the request if they're already working with the sender in some capacity.


Message and file retention

Custom message and file retention policies aren't supported. All messages and files shared in a shared channel and related direct messages will abide by the default setting, Keep all messages.


Message editing and deletion

Message editing and deletion settings for your workspace or Enterprise Grid org will apply to shared channels. For example, A workspace Admin can delete messages sent by members of their workspace, but not those sent from a member of an external organization.


Export tools and Data Loss Protection (DLP)

On the Standard and Plus plans, Workspace Owners and Admins can use Standard Export to export content from shared channels. On the Plus plan, Workspace Owners can apply to access Corporate Export to export content all shared channels (public or private) and the related direct messages shared across two workspaces.

Both workspaces can read content or data posted in a shared channel, but only the workspace that sent the data may edit or delete it from Slack.

Review our guide to export tools to read more about these options.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles