Manage message editing and deletion

By default, members can edit or delete their own messages, but Workspace Owners and Admins can change this policy at any time by updating their workspace settings.

💡 You can also configure workspace-wide message retention settings.

Tip: Deciding whether to restrict members’ ability to edit or delete messages may impact how members communicate. Be thoughtful about the pros and cons of editing and deleting for your team’s needs.

 

Adjust timeframe for editing messages

Owners and Admins can change how long members have to edit a message after sending it (e.g. any time, never, up to 1 minute or up to 1 week after posting): 

  1. Click your workspace name in the top left to open the menu. Team_Menu.png
  2. Select Workspace settings.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to Message Editing & Deletion, click expand.
  5. Under Allow editing, select how much time you want to give members to edit their messages and comments.
  6. Click Save to finish.

Note: If you select Never, that means members no longer have the ability to edit their messages. 

 

Change ability to delete messages

Owners and Admins can delete any message posted in a public channel or in private channels that they are members of. They can also restrict members' ability to delete messages: 

  1. Click your workspace name in the top left to open the menu. Team_Menu.png
  2. Select Workspace settings.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to Message Editing & Deletion, click expand.
  5. Under People who can delete messages, choose who can delete messages.
  6. Click Save to finish.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Workspace admins can use this feature.
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles