Manage shared channels on a workspace (beta)

Workspace Owners and Admins can manage all public and private shared channels on a workspace from a central location: 

  • View all workspaces connected by shared channels
  • Create new shared channels
  • Stop sharing channels

Note: The names of private shared channels aren't displayed, but you can see they exist when viewing connected workspaces. You can stop sharing a private shared channel even if you haven't been invited to it.


View connected workspaces

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration from the menu.
  3. Click Manage shared channels.
  4. Scroll or use the search bar to Search workspaces.
  5. Click the  three dots icon to view your options.


Stop sharing channels

From the Connected Workspaces view, you can stop sharing all channels at once or individual channels that you no longer need shared.

Stop sharing all channels

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration from the menu.
  3. Click Manage shared channels.
  4. Find the workspace you'd like to stop sharing channels with, and click the  three dots icon.
  5. Click Stop sharing all channels.
  6. Review what will happen when you stop sharing all channels.
  7. Click Stop Sharing

Choose individual channels to stop sharing

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration from the menu.
  3. Click Manage shared channels.
  4. Click channels to view a workspace's connected public and private shared channels.
  5. Click Stop sharing this channel next to the channel you want to stop sharing.
  6. Click Stop Sharing

In a hurry? From your desktop, click the   gear icon to open Channel Settings in any shared channel. Click Additional options, then Stop sharing this channel.

 

Manage inbound shared channel invitations

Workspace Owners and Admins can turn off all invitations to share a channel that are sent by other workspaces.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration from the menu.
  3. Click Workspace settings.
  4. Next to Shared Channels (Beta), click Expand.
  5. Check or uncheck the box next to Allow in-bound invitations.
  6. Click Save

Note: Workspace Owners and Admins can convert a public shared channel to private at any time, but it will only be private in your workspace. Learn how to Make a public channel private.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Admins can access this feature.
  • Available on the Standard and Plus plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles