Leave a channel

Slack is a collaboration hub for the people you work with, and channels — created within a Slack workspace — are where teamwork happens.

Why leave a channel? Perhaps a project wrapped up or the channel just isn't relevant to you any longer. All members except guests can choose to leave channels, or come and go as needed.

The basics

Here are some practical things to know about leaving channels:

  • Members can leave any channel except your workspace's #general channel.
  • Single-Channel Guests can't leave the channel they have access to.
  • Multi-Channel Guests can leave private channels, but they must be removed from public channels by an admin. To rejoin any channel, Multi-Channel Guests must be invited back.


Leave channels

Desktop

iOS

Android

Windows Phone

  1. Click the gear icon  to open the Channel Settings menu.
  2. Select Leave [channel name]
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to open the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Leave Channel
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to open the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Leave.  
  1. Tap the  Menu icon in the top right to open the channel list.
  2. Tap the channel you’d like to leave.
  3. Tap the channel name on the header to open the channel details menu.
  4. Tap Leave.  

Tip: Leave a channel quickly by typing the slash command /leave followed by the channel's name.  

 

Leave private channels

Desktop

iOS

Android

Windows Phone

  1. Click the gear icon  to open the Channel Settings menu.
  2. Click Leave [channel name]
  3. Click Yes, leave the private channel.
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to open the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Leave Channel
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to open the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Leave.  
  1. Tap the  Menu icon in the top right to open the channel list.
  2. Tap the channel you’d like to leave.
  3. Tap the channel name on the header to open the channel details menu.
  4. Tap Leave.  

Note: If you leave a private channel, its messages and files will no longer appear in your search results. To rejoin, you'll need to be invited by one of the private channel's members.

Who can use this feature?
  • All members can use this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles