Archive a channel

Archiving a channel removes it from the list of active conversations in your Slack workspace. The channel isn’t open for new activity, but the history is retained for easy browsing and searching.

What to expect

  • The channel name will have the  archive icon next to it
  • Members will be removed from the channel (public channels only)
  • Members can still browse the conversation history in Slack
  • Messages from the archived channel will appear in search results
  • Apps connected to the channel will be disabled

Note: Owners and Admins can delete a channel that they have joined (except for the #general channel).


Archive a channel

Desktop

iOS

Android

Windows Phone

  1. Click the  gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  2. Select Additional options.
  3. Click Archive this channel.
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to view the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Archive.
  1. Tap the channel name in the header to view the channel details menu.
  2. Tap Archive under the Advanced section.
  3. On the next screen, tap Archive to confirm.
Sorry, it's not currently possible to archive a channel on Windows Phone. Please stay tuned for updates! 

Note: The #general channel cannot be archived.


Unarchive a channel

If you change your mind, you can unarchive a channel. Keep in mind that members are removed from archived public channels after a few days, but they'll be retained in private channels if they're restored. Here's how to unarchive a channel:

  1. From your desktop, click the Channels header at the top of your list of channels.
  2. Click Show: All channels and select Archived channels from the drop-down menu.
    Screen_Shot_2017-06-20_at_4.38.21_PM.png
  3. Choose a channel from the list to open the channel history. 
  4. Click the  gear icon and select un-archive #channelname

Note: Channel names cannot repeat across archived or active channels. If you'd like to reuse the name of an archived channel, you'll need to unarchive and rename the channel to something else.

Who can use this feature?
  • By default, all members except for Guests can use this feature.
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles