Change your workspace or org name and URL

Your workspace name is displayed in menus and headings throughout Slack. It will usually be (or include) the name of your company. Your workspace URL is the web address your members will use to access Slack. 

On Slack Enterprise Grid — where multiple workspaces are connected across your company — Org Owners can set the overarching organization name and URL.

Keep in mind: When changing a workspace URL, you'll also need to update the URL in other services such as single sign-on, IRC and XMPP gateways, and some apps.

Note: You can rename or set a new web address for your workspace or Enterprise Grid organization at any time. Be sure to let all members know about the change.


Change a workspace name or URL 

Here's how Workspace Owners can change a workspace's name and URL:

Free, Standard, and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down the page and click Change Workspace Name & URL.
  4. Select a new Workspace Name or URL.
  5. Click Save Changes.

If your workspace is connected to an Enterprise Grid organization, follow these instructions:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Scroll down the page and click Change Workspace Info.
  4. Enter a Workspace Name, Description, and URL.
  5. Click Save Changes.


Change an org name or URL 

Here's how Org Owners on Slack Enterprise Grid can change the organization's name and URL:

  1. From your desktop, sign in to your Slack Enterprise Grid, then click Manage Organization.
  2. Visit the  Settings page of the Admin Dashboard.
  3. Click Organization Info.
  4. Enter an Organization Name and an Organization URL
  5. Click Save Changes to finish.


A note about changing the URL

When you change the URL, Slack will automatically redirect the old address to the new one. However, your former URL will become available to register by another group. Once claimed, your old URL will no longer redirect. Remind members to update their links and bookmarks.

Who can use this feature?
  • Only Workspace Owners and Org Owners can access this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles