Remove someone from a channel
Who can use this feature?
- By default, Team Owners and Admins can use this feature.
- Available to teams on free and paid plans.
- Click the show channel details icon at the top of the channel, to open the details pane.
- In the Members list, click the person you'd like to remove.
- Select Remove from channel.
Your team member will be immediately removed and will get a message from Slackbot to let them know who removed them from the channel.
Tip: For a speedier removal, try using the slash command /remove, followed by the member’s username instead.
Note: Team Owners can adjust who on the team can remove others from channels by visiting the Team Settings page at https://my.slack.com/admin/settings.
Keep in mind:
- Owners, Administrators, and regular members will still have access to public channel history and files even if they are removed from the channel.
- Members who are removed from a private channel won't be able to access the private channel's archives or re-join the channel unless they are re-invited.
- Guests will immediately lose access to channel history and files when they are removed from a channel.
- No one can be removed from the team's common channel (usually #general).