Try a paid plan for free

Using Slack on the Free plan but curious to see what our other plans are all about? You might be interested in trying the Standard or Plus plan on a free trial. 

How free trials work

  • Workspace Primary Owners can request a trial. Just write to us!
  • We offer free trials of our Standard and Plus plans. See plan details.
  • If Slack on a paid plan is a good fit, upgrade anytime. Learn how.


Request a trial

Workspace Primary Owners can request a free trial of Slack's Standard or Plus plan. Ready to get started? Get in touch with us

You'll be able to try out and take advantage of all of the plan's features. Read more about what the Standard plan and Plus plan include. 🚀

Tip: You can also upgrade to a paid plan using credits without requesting a trial. See your billing details to view available credits.


What to expect

If you upgrade

If you don't upgrade

How you're billed

Once your free trial expires, we’ll use any credit balance on your account before billing you for either a monthly or annual plan. See your workspace's billing history to view available credits and their expiry dates. 

Note: We believe in fair billing, so you'll only pay for the members that are active at the time you upgrade. Learn more about our Fair Billing Policy.


Downgrade back to the Free plan

If you've upgraded but change your mind before the free trial ends, you can return to the Free plan. Learn how to change your plan.

If you downgrade after the end of the trial, our Terms of Service apply. You can cancel at any time, and no further payments will be taken, but we do not refund payments already made.

What to expect

If your free trial ends but you choose not to upgrade, you'll move back to the Free plan. Here's what to expect:

  • You'll return to the message and storage limits for the Free Plan. Only the most recent 10,000 messages will be viewable and searchable. And if over the 5GB file storage limit, you’ll get to choose which files to delete from your workspace.
  • Any Email apps will be deactivated immediately.
  • Shared channels will stop being shared immediately. Each workspace will retain a copy of the channel. 
  • Guest accounts will be deactivated, but you can reactivate them as full members if you wish. 

Warning: Anything deleted via a custom data retention policy set during the free trial is permanently removed from your workspace.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles