Privacy FAQs

Over the last two years, Slack has evolved from a messaging tool to a digital workplace, connecting teams with the people and tools they work with every day. The updated Terms of Service and Privacy Policy reflect how people are using Slack today. You can read more details about these changes below.

We recommend you review the updated Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, which have now been broken out into the Customer Terms of Service and the User Terms of Service. Specifically, if you are the organization or individual that created or now owns a team, the updates in the Customer Terms of Service apply to you. If you joined an existing team by invitation, the revised User Terms of Service apply to you. The updated agreements are effective November 17, 2016 and by using Slack on or after that date, you consent to the updates. If you don't want to be bound by these agreements, you may follow the instructions in the Help Center to deactivate your Slack account.

Overall, we made our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy easier to follow. We have also made changes to:

Distinguish between customer terms & user terms

  • Our terms for customers and users were previously all together. We’ve created separate documents for the terms that apply to customers and the terms that apply to users to make them easier to follow.

Provide customers with more features and choices

  • Customer support services will now be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for customers on relevant plans.
  • Customers on certain plans may also have additional information management choices.
  • We have updated our customer terms to help businesses in an array of verticals and geographies comply with their internal policies.

Clarify Slack’s relationship with customers & users

  • We've updated the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy to clarify that customers are empowered to instruct us on the access and use of data submitted to their team.

Provide EU-US Privacy Shield information

  • We've added language about our participation in the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework to make it more clear how we're protecting the data of customers using Slack in the EU. You can review our Privacy Shield Notice for more information.

 

Common Questions

What is the default message retention setting?

The default Slack message retention setting for all teams is to retain all messages in channels and direct messages, for all team members, for as long as the team exists.

With the default settings in place, if a message is edited, only the last edited version of the message is retained in Slack. Please see our Security Practices page for our deletion policies.

What message retention options exist for paid teams?

For paid versions of Slack, Administrators can manage message retention settings in a much more granular way. Messages can be automatically deleted in as little as a day, week, or month.

Administrators can also choose to retain all versions of edited and deleted messages for channels and direct messages for a set time period for certain Slack plans.

What are the options for file retention?

By default, Slack will save files submitted to the team for the lifetime of your team. Your team can also choose to delete files after a specific number of days or years. Team Owners can adjust this setting by opening the File Retention section of the Team Settings page at my.slack.com/admin/settings. See Custom message and file retention for more information.

What is a Compliance Export or Discovery API? Who can use it?

Compliance Exports are only available to teams on the Plus plan. Discovery APIs are only available on the Enterprise plan. To learn about the differences between standard and Compliance Exports and Discovery APIs, please see Guide to Slack data exports.

Can I delete and edit my own messages?

By default, team members are able to edit and delete their own messages in Slack. However, Administrators can limit when or whether users on their teams have the ability to do so. Learn more: Edit or delete messages.

I edited a message. Is there a record of what it contained before I edited it?

On free Slack teams, if you are able to edit a message, only the last-edited version remains.

On paid Slack teams, your Team Administrator may have elected to keep an edit history of all edited messages. Check your team’s settings to be sure.

I deleted a message in my Slack team. Is it gone?

On free Slack teams, deleted messages are not accessible in Slack.

If you’re a member of a paid Slack team, your Team Administrator may have selected a message retention option to keep all messages, even if they have been deleted by the user. View your team’s settings to learn more.

How can I know who my Team's Owners and Administrators are?

A list of your Team’s Owners and Administrators can be viewed at any time in your team's Directory, or from the Team Settings page. Click the view admins link at the top of the page to see the list.

Ownership of a Slack team can be transferred easily via the Manage Your Team page, at my.slack.com/admin/transfer.

Can I delete my Slack account?

Team members have the ability to deactivate their own Slack account. Administrators can also deactivate accounts for any users on their team. Deactivation does not fully delete accounts, so that team members may be reactivated at a later date.

Before deactivating their account, a user can edit any of their profile fields to add or remove any information they like, and can delete all optional fields completely.

Can I delete my Slack team?

Only Primary Owners can delete a Slack team. To learn more about the deletion process, please see Delete a Slack team and our Security Practices.