Deactivate your Slack account

When you're ready to leave a workspace for good, you can deactivate your account. For every workspace you've joined, you'll need to deactivate each account individually. 


Deactivate your account

Note: Deactivating your account won't delete messages or files you've shared. If permitted, delete content you'd like to remove before deactivating your account. 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Profile & account from the menu.
  3. Click the  gear icon
  4. In your browser, locate the Deactivate account section.
  5. Click Deactivate your account.
  6. Click Yes, deactivate my account to confirm. Your account will be deactivated immediately. If you'd like to return to this workspace in the future, an Owner or Admin will need to re-enable your account.

Don't see an option to deactivate your account? You're the Workspace Primary Owner. Please visit Delete a workspace for more info.


Deactivate a Primary Owner's account

Every workspace must have a Primary Owner. If you're a Workspace Primary Owner, you'll first need to transfer ownership of your workspace. Once you've done so, you'll have the option to deactivate your account.


Delete your profile information

To delete your profile information, contact a Workspace Primary Owner after deactivating your account. Workspace Primary Owners can contact Slack on your behalf to have your profile information removed. 

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles