Deactivate your Slack account

Ready to leave a workspace for good? You can deactivate your account at any time.

What to expect

  • If you're a member of multiple workspaces, you'll have an account per workspace, so you'll need to deactivate each one separately.
  • Deactivating your account won't delete messages and files. If allowed by your Workspace Owners and Admins, you can delete messages and files you've added before deactivating your account.
  • If you're the Primary Workspace Owner, you won't see the option to deactivate — you'll need to transfer primary ownership to someone else first.


Deactivate your account

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Profile & account from the menu.
  3. Click the  More actions icon, then choose Open account settings.
  4. Scroll to Deactivate account, then click Deactivate your account.
  5. Check the box next to Deactivate your account. If you installed apps on the workspace, we'll let you know those may be disabled. Workspace Owners will be able to manage and re-enable them.
  6. Click Deactivate account.
  7. Enter your password, then click Confirm password.

    Your account will be deactivated immediately. If you'd like to return to this workspace in the future, a Workspace Owner or Admin will need to reactivate your account.

Note: You won't see the option to deactivate if auto-provisioning is enabled, but you can reach out to an Owner or Admin for help.


Delete your profile information

To delete your profile information, contact a Workspace Primary Owner after deactivating your account. Workspace Primary Owners can contact Slack on your behalf to have your profile information removed. 

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles