Delete a workspace

Deleting a Slack workspace cannot be undone: once you delete a workspace, all of its messages and files will be irretrievable, so please use caution and consider exporting your data first.

Workspaces on the Free, Standard, and Plus plans can only be deleted by the Workspace Primary Owner. By default, all workspaces connected to an Enterprise Grid organization can only be deleted by the Org Primary Owner — unless primary ownership is transferred to someone else in the organization.

Tip: Just need to change your workspace's name or URL? No need to delete your workspace — you can change these in your Workspace Settings under Workspace Name & URL.

 

Delete a workspace

Free, Standard, and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

From your desktop, here's how Workspace Primary Owners can delete a workspace:

  1. Click your workspace name in the top left to open the menu. Team_Menu.png
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Scroll down to Delete Workspace.
  4. Click Delete Workspace.
  5. Check the box to confirm you want to delete the workspace.
  6. Enter your password and click Yes, delete my workspace.

From your desktop, here's how Workspace Primary Owners can delete a workspace and remove it from an Enterprise Grid organization:

  1. Click your workspace name in the top left to open the menu. Team_Menu.png
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Scroll down to Delete Workspace.
  4. Click Delete Workspace.
  5. Check the box to confirm you want to delete the workspace.
  6. Enter your password and click Yes, delete my workspace.

Note: If your workspace or Enterprise Grid org has single sign-on enabled and you never created a password for your Slack account, you’ll need to set one. Follow the steps to reset your password.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Only the Workspace Primary Owner can access this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles