Delete a workspace

Deleting a Slack workspace cannot be undone: all messages and files will be irretrievable, so please use caution and consider exporting your data first.

Tip: Just need to change your workspace's name or URL? There's no need to delete your workspace — you can change either of these in your Workspace Settings under Workspace Name & URL.

 

Delete a workspace

Free, Standard, and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

Only the Primary Owner of a workspace can delete it. Here's how:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Scroll down to Delete Workspace.
  4. Click Delete Workspace.
  5. Check the box to confirm you want to delete the workspace.
  6. Enter your password and click Yes, delete my workspace.

To remove a workspace from an Enterprise Grid org, it must be deleted by the workspace's Primary Owner. 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Scroll down to Delete Workspace.
  4. Click Delete Workspace.
  5. Check the box to confirm you want to delete the workspace.
  6. Enter your password and click Yes, delete my workspace.

Note: If your workspace or Enterprise Grid org has single sign-on enabled and you never created a password for your Slack account, you’ll need to set one. Follow the steps to reset your password.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Only the Workspace Primary Owner can delete a workspace. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles