Supplemental Slack info for you and your team.Tips and tools for beginners and experts alike.Get familiar with Slack Enterprise Grid for large organizations.If you're curious about what's new in Slack — and what's changed — you're in the right place.Develop your skills and prepare to become Slack Certified!Launching a new team or joining one for the first time?
Our easy-to-read guides help your team work better, together, from day one.Ready to level up? Browse our time-saving tricks and practical tips for
making Slack work for you.All kinds of teams thrive with Slack — take a look at our department-specific guides.
More coming soon!Learn how Slack works, from top to bottom!Want to learn more about setting up your team? Look no further!Welcome to Slack! We're so glad you're here. Let's get started!Adjust your profile and preferences to make Slack work just for you!Simplify your daily work with apps and tools.Tips and tools for beginners and experts alike.
Slack is experiencing some connectivity issues — please stand by. Check Status
Over time, members of your workspace may come and go. You can deactivate members' accounts, or they can leave whenever they choose. 🍂
What happens when an account is deactivated?
The member will be logged out and no longer able to sign in.
Apps or integrations set up by the member will be disabled.
The member's messages and files will still be accessible in Slack.
Note: To preserve your workspace's message history, member accounts can't be entirely deleted from Slack.
Deactivate an account
From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
Select Administration, then Manage members.
Click the three dots icon to the right of the member who you’d like to deactivate.
Click Deactivate account.
Keep in mind: To deactivate an Admin's account, you must be a Workspace Owner. To deactivate another Owner's account, you must be the Primary Workspace Owner.
Deactivated accounts and message history
Once deactivated, a member's messages and files will still be accessible in channels and direct messages. This is to preserve the workspace's message history and to prevent confusion for others. However, you won't be able to send new direct messages to deactivated members.