Deactivate a member's account

Over time, members of your workspace may come and go. Some might choose to leave on their own, but for other members, you may need to deactivate their accounts. If you're an Owner or Admin, keep reading to learn how.

What happens when you deactivate an account?

  • The member will be signed out of your workspace(s) and unable to sign back in.
  • The member's messages and files will still be accessible in your workspace(s).
  • Apps the member set up may be disabled. You can manage and re-enable these apps if you'd like to reconnect them.


Deactivate an account

Free, Standard, and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to deactivate.
  4. Select Deactivate account.

Workspace level

In an Enterprise Grid org, Workspace Owners and Admins can remove members from their workspace. When removed, the member will lose access to the workspace, but may still access and join others within the org. To remove a member, use the steps below:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to remove.
  4. Select Remove from workspace.

Org level

Org Owners and Admins can deactivate any member's account. When deactivated at the org level, a member can no longer access any workspace within the organization. Here's how to deactivate someone:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Organization settings.
  3. Choose Members under Organization.
  4. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to deactivate.
  5. Select Deactivate.

Note: Only Owners can deactivate an Admin's account, and only Primary Owners can deactivate an Owner's account. If you're the Primary Owner, you must transfer primary ownership before you (or someone else) can deactivate your account.


What to expect

To preserve message history, members' messages and files will still be accessible in Slack, even if their accounts are deactivated.  If settings allow, members can choose to delete their messages and files before their accounts are deactivated, if they'd like.

Owners and Admins of a workspace or org can reinstate a deactivated member later on if needed. Learn how to reactivate a member's account.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins or Org Owners/Admins
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles