Delete a channel

Deleting a channel will completely remove the channel and all of its contents from your team's archives.

Here's how:

  1. Visit your Message Archivesmy.slack.com/archives. If the channel you wish to delete is currently archived, click the Archived Channels tab.
  2. Click the name of the channel you'd like to delete.
  3. On the channel archive page, click the red Delete channel link.
  4. Check the box next to Yes, I am absolutely sure and click Delete it.

Warning: Channels that have been deleted cannot be restored. Proceed with care. 

Note: Private channels and the #general channel cannot be deleted. However, you can archive a private channel.


Files will not be deleted

Deleting a channel will not delete the files that were shared in that channel, nor will it change the visibility of those files. The entire team will still be able to see, access, and re-share files from deleted channels.

Team Owners and Admins can delete files from the Files page at my.slack.com/files. Learn more about Delete shared files in Slack.

Note: Teams on paid plans may have custom message and file retention policies. Check with a Team Admin for more info.

Who can use this feature?
  • Team Owners and Admins can use this feature. 
  • Available to teams on free and paid plans.