Delete a channel

Workspace Owners and Admins can delete any public or private channel that they've joined, except for the #general channel — it'll always be a built-in part of your workspace. Deleting a channel will remove it and all its contents from your workspace's archives.

Note: Public shared channels (beta) can be deleted, but a Workspace Owner or Admin must stop sharing the channel first. 


To delete or archive?

Deleting a channel permanently removes its history from your workspace, and can only be done by a Workspace Owner or Admin. If you’d prefer not to erase a channel and its entire history, or if you're a member, you can archive it instead. This will keep a channel’s history intact, but it’ll no longer be open for activity.


Delete a channel

Warning: Once a channel has been deleted, it can't be restored. Proceed with care.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you want to delete and join the channel if you haven't already.
  2. Click the  gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu. 
  3. Select Additional options.
  4. Click Delete this channel.
  5. Check Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete Channel.

A note for members: Only a Workspace Owner or Admin can delete channels. If you'd like to delete a channel, contact an Owner or Admin for help.


Delete an archived channel

An archived channel is no longer open for new activity, but its history is retained for easy browsing and searching. Archived channels will have an    archive icon next to their name. Here's how to delete one: 

  1. From your desktop, click the Channels header at the top of your channel list.
  2. Click Show: All channels and select Archived channels from the menu.
  3. Select the channel you'd like to delete.
  4. Click the  gear icon, then select Delete
  5. Check Yes, permanently delete this channel, then click Delete Channel

Note: Private channels must be unarchived in order to be deleted.

 

Manage file deletion

Deleting a channel will not delete the files that were shared in that channel, nor will it change the visibility of those files. Members of your workspace will still be able to see, access, and re-share files from deleted channels.

Workspace Owners and Admins can delete files from the Files page at my.slack.com/files. Learn more about deleting shared files in Slack.

Note: If your workspace is on a paid plan, you can always adjust your custom message and file retention policies.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can use this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles