Make a public channel private

Private channels are for discussions that shouldn't be open to everyone. If a public channel's content is best for a closed audience, you can convert the channel to a private one.

The details

  • Only Workspace Owners and Admins can do this, and they must be a member of a channel before converting it.
  • Files shared in the public channel will not become private. They'll remain accessible to other members of your workspace.
  • Private channels cannot be changed back to public channels. 

Note: The #general channel cannot be converted to a private channel.


Convert a public channel

Use care: This change can't be undone. For privacy reasons, private channels can never be made public.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you'd like to make private. (Make sure you're a member of the channel!)
  2. Click the  gear icon in the top right.
  3. Select Additional options from the Channel Settings menu.
  4. Choose Convert this channel to a private channel.
  5. Click Ok to confirm.

A note for members: You won't see the option to convert public channels to private. Contact a Workspace Owner or Admin for help. 


Restrict who can convert public channels

By default, Workspace Owners and Admins can convert channels from public to private (members don't have the option). Workspace Owners can restrict this permission to Owners only by limiting who can create private channels. 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left. workspace_menu
  2. Select Administration from the menu, then Workspace settings.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Click Expand next to Channel Management.
  5. Under People who can create private channels, make your selection.

    👩‍✈️Workspace Owners only: By choosing this option, you'll restrict private channel creation and public channel conversion to Owners.

    👩‍✈️👩‍🔧Workspace Admins and Owners only: If you select this option, Owners and Admins will be able to convert public channels to private (in addition to creating private channels).
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can use this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles