Merge Slack workspaces

Need to consolidate multiple Slack workspaces into one centrally-managed space? Using Slacks’s export and import tools, you can move content from one workspace to another. Here's how: you'll export data from one workspace, import it to a second workspace, and voila! ✨

What's included in a workspace export?

✅  Included

  • Messages sent in public channels
  • Files shared in public channels
  • Archived channels
  • Apps and integration activity logs

🚫  Not Included

  • Messages/files sent in private channels
  • Messages/files sent in direct messages
  • Editing and deletion logs

Tip: We recommend exporting from the workspace with the fewest users and least activity, and importing into the more active workspace.


Step 1: Export data from your first workspace

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
    workspace_menu
  2. Select Workspace settings from the menu. 
  3. Click Import/Export Data in the top right.
  4. Select the Export tab, then click Start Export. We'll email you when your export is complete. 
  5. From the Export Data page, click Ready for download to download the .zip file.


💡 For more help with exports, see Exporting data and message history.


Step 2: Import data to your second workspace

Warning: Please do not edit your import file — this can cause the import to fail.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
    workspace_menu
  2. Select Workspace settings from the menu. 
  3. Click Import/Export Data in the top right.
  4. Select the Import tab.
  5. Next to Slack, click Import
  6. Select Choose File. You should choose the .zip file you downloaded in Step 4 above.
  7. Click Start Import.


💡 To learn more about imports, see Importing message history.

Note: You’ll have a chance to choose which members and channels you’d like to import, as well as their destinations. Learn more about mapping your import to Slack.

Keep in mind: You can cancel an import in progress, or rollback once it's complete, and start again. Just click Cancel or Start Rollback found in the Import Data page of the service you imported.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Admins can access this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles