Upgrade or downgrade a paid plan

If you're the Owner of a workspace on the Standard or Plus plan (or you're a member who's upgraded the workspace), you can make plan changes. Here are the options available to you:

Note: Want to cancel a paid plan but continue using Slack? You can downgrade to the Free plan. To stop paying right away, follow the steps below and choose Switch immediately to the Free plan.


Upgrade from Standard to Plus plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace Settings from the menu.
  3. In the left-side column, locate Administration, then click Billing.
  4. From the Overview tab, choose change plan.
  5. Choose Upgrade to Plus plan.
  6. Click Preview Changes.
  7. Select Confirm this Plan Change.


Downgrade from Plus to Standard plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace Settings from the menu.
  3. In the left-side column, locate Administration, then click Billing.
  4. From the Overview tab, choose change plan.
  5. Choose Change to the Standard plan.
  6. Click Preview Changes.
  7. Select Confirm this Plan Change.


Downgrade to Free plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace Settings from the menu.
  3. In the left-side column, locate Administration, then click Billing.
  4. From the Overview tab, choose change plan.
  5. Choose either Switch immediately to the Free plan or Switch to the Free plan upon renewal.
  6. Click Preview Changes.
  7. Mark the checkbox to continue.
  8. Click Downgrade Slack.


What to keep in mind

When moving from a paid plan to the Free plan, keep the following in mind:

Message/storage limits

Message and file storage limits will change. Only the most recent 10,000 messages will be viewable and searchable. Once you pass the 5GB file storage limit, Slack will archive older files as new files are uploaded.

App/integration limits Your workspace can have up to 10 third-party apps or custom integrations. If you're over the limit, you'll be unable to add any other apps or integrations.
Feature availability

Guest accounts will be deactivated, but they can be reactivated as full members. Also, shared channels will no longer be shared, but each workspace will keep a copy. And finally, the Email app will be deactivated immediately.

Credits If applicable, we'll credit your workspace account with Slack credits equal to any unused portion of your paid plan.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners
  • Standard and Plus plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles