Delete your profile info from Slack

Workspace Primary Owners can request to delete their members' personal data from Slack. The ability to delete a person’s personal information allows companies to meet the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).


How it works

  1. A member deactivates their account and asks their Workspace Primary Owner to delete their profile information.
  2. The Primary Owner contacts Slack on the member's behalf.
  3. We'll remove the deactivated member's name, email address, and other unique identifiers from the workspace.


What's deleted

Only a Workspace Primary Owner can request to delete a deactivated member's profile information. Here's what's removed:

  • Full name
  • Display name
  • Profile picture 
  • Phone numbers
  • Email address
  • Title
  • Other profile info (custom fields)


What's not deleted 

To preserve the message history of a workspace, and to prevent confusion for other members, the following information won't be deleted:

  • The content of a member's messages in channels (public and private) and DMs
  • Posts or files created by the member
  • @mentions — these will appear as being sent to or from @deactivateduser, instead of the member's full name or display name.

A note for members: Before deactivating your account, you can manually delete your messages from Slack. Contact a Workspace Owner if you have questions about your message deletion permissions.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Primary Owners can request to use this feature. 
  • Available by request for free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles