Manage deactivated members' apps and integrations

When member accounts are deactivated, some apps and integrations they've installed will automatically disable. Depending on the app/integration, Workspace Owners (and others with permission to manage apps) can decide what to do next: 

  • Option 1: Reactivate eligible apps/integrations
  • Option 2: Transfer ownership of eligible apps/integrations


Option 1: Reactivate eligible apps/integrations 

When a member's account is deactivated, some app/integration features may remain active, including bot users, slash commands, and incoming webhooks. For apps and integrations that require member-specific permissions, they'll disable completely if the installing member's account is deactivated. If that happens, you can reactivate them using the steps below.

Reactivate

Workspace Owners (and other members with permission to manage Approved Apps) can reactivate disabled apps: 

  1. Open the list of deactivated apps and integrations
  2. Find the uninstalled app/integration in the list and click View
  3. For disabled apps, select Install and configure the app to restore service. 
    For disabled integrations, click Enable

Note: Because they're tied to members, an API token is revoked when a member’s account is deactivated. Any user-specific permissions the member granted will no longer be available.


Option 2: Transfer ownership of eligible apps/integrations 

Only certain apps/integrations can be transferred to a new owner.

  • Eligible
    Apps built by Slack, and legacy custom integrations
  • Not eligible
    Apps/integrations that require unique API tokens, and integrations configured for private channels (either can be reactivated following the steps above)

Transfer ownership

Workspace Owners should contact us for help to transfer an eligible app or integration to a new owner. Here's what we’ll need to know:

  • The name of your workspace
  • The email address of the member you’d like to transfer the app/integration to
  • The email address of the deactivated member

Internal apps: Deactivated members will lose the ability to collaborate. If the sole app collaborator has lost access, a Primary Owner can contact us to request a transfer for the internal app(s).

Bot integrations: When they're transferred, their corresponding tokens are automatically regenerated. Once the transfer takes place, you'll need to update any code that references the old bot token.

Who can use this feature?

  • Workspace Owners (default)
  • FreeStandard, and Plus plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles