Manage deactivated members' apps and integrations

Members with a deactivated Slack account will lose access to your workspace. In addition, any apps or integrations they've set up will be disabled automatically. 

Once a member is deactivated, apps and integrations can be re-enabled by another member of the workspace. In some cases, those apps and integrations can be transferred to a new owner.


How it works

When it comes to transferring an app or integration to a new owner, the process depends on a couple of factors: the type of app or integration and the timing of account deactivation.

App eligibility

 What can be transferred? 

  • A small set of apps or integrations (including those created by Slack and legacy custom integrations)
  • For example, Incoming Webhooks or Bot Users

🚫 What Can't be transferred? 

  • Apps and integrations that require a unique API token for each member (most apps in our App Directory)
  • For example, Google Calendar, MailChimp, Stripe, and Zapier

Tip: API tokens are tied to members, so tokens are automatically revoked when a member deactivates their account. In these cases, a new member should install and configure an app to restore service.  

A note about internal apps: For internal apps built for your workspace, deactivated members lose the ability to collaborate. If there's only one collaborator, a Workspace Owner or another member can take over.


Transfer apps and integrations

In most cases, the easiest thing to do is have another member re-enable the deactivated member's eligible apps or integrations. This won't transfer the app to someone else, but it will get it working again.  

Workspace Owners can contact us for help transferring an eligible app or integration to a new owner. Here's what information you should include: 

  • The name of your workspace
  • The email address of the member you wish to transfer the app/integration to
  • The email address of the member that will be deactivated (or who has been deactivated)

Note: When bot integrations are transferred, their corresponding tokens are automatically regenerated. Once the transfer takes place, you'll need to update any code that references the old bot token.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners can request a transfer.
  • Available for all plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles