Merge Slack workspaces

Need to consolidate multiple Slack workspaces into one centrally-managed hub? Using Slacks’s export and import tools, you can move public content from one workspace to another. Here's how: you'll export data from one workspace, import it to a second workspace, and voila! ✨

Tip: To simplify your merge, start with the smaller, least active workspace. Export the public content, then import it into the more active workspace. 


Step 1: Understand exports

You can move public content from one workspace and merge it with another. When you export content, see what's included below:

✅  Included

  • Messages/files from public
    channels
  • Messages/files from archived public channels
  • Activity logs for apps and integrations

🚫  Not Included

  • Messages/files from private channels
  • Messages/files from direct messages
  • Message edit and deletion logs

Note: Want to learn more about Slack exports? Check out Guide to Slack import and export tools.


Step 2: Export content from your first workspace

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
    workspace_menu
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click Import/Export Data in the top right.
  4. Select the Export tab, then click Start Export. We'll email you when your export is complete. 
  5. From the Export Data page, click Ready for download to download the .zip file.


💡 Learn more about exporting your workspace data.


Step 3: Import content to your second workspace

Warning: Please do not edit your import file — this can cause the import to fail.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
    workspace_menu
  2. Select Administration, then Workspace settings from the menu.
  3. Click Import/Export Data in the top right.
  4. Select the Import tab.
  5. Next to Slack, click Import
  6. Select Choose File. You should choose the .zip file you downloaded in Step 4 above.
  7. Click Start Import.


💡 To learn more about imports, see Import message history.

Note: You’ll have a chance to choose which members and channels you’d like to import, as well as their destinations. Learn more about mapping your import to Slack.

Keep in mind: You can cancel an import in progress, or rollback once it's complete, and start again. Just click Cancel or Start Rollback found in the Import Data page of the service you imported.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Admins can access this feature. 
  • Available on free and paid plans.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles